Get More CYS Delivered Straight to Your Inbox

Cinema Tropical: 2nd Annual Winners

The winners of the 2nd annual edition of the Cinema Tropical AWARDS presented by Cinelatino and Dish LATINO, were unveiled last night at a special event at The New York Times’ 15th Floor Conference Center. Peruvian film Octubre / October by Daniel and Diego Vega was the winner of the award for Best Feature Film of the Year, whilst Chilean film Nostalgia de la luz / Nostalgia for the Light by Patricio Guzmán was named Best Documentary Film. Mexican film El lugar más pequeño / The Tiniest Place by Tatiana Huezo won two awards for Best First Film and Best Director, Documentary Film; and Michael Rowe, also from Mexico, was awarded as Best Director, Feature Film for Año bisiesto / Leap Year.

The Cinema Tropical AWARDS are presented byCinelatino and Dish LATINO and sponsored by The Lift. The Cinema Tropical AWARDS are presented in partnership with VOCES, the Latino Heritage Network of The New York Times Company; 92YTribeca; Festival Scope; and Tóxico Cultura. Special thanks to Andrew Vargas-Stehney, Amber Shields, Mara Behrens, Mario Díaz and Lucila Moctezuma.